This Isn’t Helping

It’s no secret that I would leave my regular job in a heartbeat if I could find a viable way of hanging out with Marty 24/7 for a living. (I know I should be thankful I even have a job, and of course I am, but I’d still leave it stone cold without thinking twice or looking back if the opportunity came up.) What can I say? I just love being with Marty and I actually think (from my totally neutral and unbiased perspective) that we work rather well together. Also, being the total cheeseball I am, I really miss him when I’m at work. Not a day at work passes without me thinking wistful thoughts of him and wondering how we could ever make this ‘working together’ dream a reality…

Lately, I’ve been finding it more difficult to peel myself out of bed and to get ready for another day at the office. It’s been especially tough on Mondays, after I’ve had a whole blissful (but busy!) weekend living my dream (aka working with Marty). That said, it doesn’t help me knowing that, while I am toiling away on a Tuesday at the job that isn’t necessarily my favourite one, the person I love is leisurely partaking in this magical sight:

Whales!!

Whales!!

Maybe I’m a little bit jealous! Marty was on his way to the Harbour by bike yesterday, innocently going to see how many other vendors were set up already. En route, near Trial Island, he was alerted to the presence of over 20 orcas by a number of zodiac boats and whale-watching tours. So he spent the next 45 minutes or so following the pod (by bike!) from Trial Island to near the Chinese Cemetery, to the Oak Bay Marina, and onwards.

Oh, this gives me the cramps.

The only time we’ve ever seen whales together was when we got married, and that was just over 4 years ago now. Since then, I’ve seen a few whales from the ferry (a number of years ago– does not compare), but I’ve never been able to see so many of them, and from my bicycle to boot! (Jealousy! Taking strangle hold!)

OK: It’s time to take some zen breaths, to remind myself that I must still be learning some great/useful/needed life skills at my job (otherwise the universe would have kicked me out of there), and to get over it already. My day of seeing pods of whales from my bicycle with Marty en route to our common workplace will come!

5 responses

  1. Oh hot damn! What a great sight! I saw whales the last long weekend when we were on the ferry… but they were so far away and I only saw a tiny fin peak up from the water. From our distance though, you might has well group that sighting with seeing a log bob up and down on the surface of the water!

    It was good seeing you guys again and finally at the waterfront! Maybe this weekend also as a friend of mine is visiting from Vancouver.

    Have a great day today at the day job! 😉

    • Haha– I’ve had my fair share of ‘whale’ sightings that turned out to be logs in the distance.

      Thanks for stopping by the other day- we only have 2 weeks left and then we’ll officially declare ourselves free until next year! Can’t wait!

  2. “Oh, this gives me the cramps. ”
    I love, love, love this line. I’m going to steal it.

    Isn’t that quite the rare sighting? Between that island and the main island? Isn’t that crazy?? I can’t imagine seeing whales there!

    I went on one of those whale watching tours (the one with the yellow zodiacs) and it was great. This was about 10 years ago, long before I lived here. But I would recommend it.

  3. Oh, jealousy! I remember that feeling, coming home from work a couple of days last year, Gary coming to the door with the guiltiest look on his face. . . “I saw whales today”. No, really, I’m so HAPPY FOR YOU HONEY. Maybe next year you can come up with the harbour blog, get paid by tourism victoria, eh eh? You’d be perfect!

What's the buzz? Tell me what's happening:

