Day Five: Pedicure!

Overall, I am not a fancy person. I regularly lounge about in sweats and unflattering t-shirts at home, and even when I go out in public, it’s often with a quick ponytail and a dab of beeswax lipbalm, if I’m lucky. There are certain things that are part of my regular grooming routine (hello, eyebrow threading!), but when it comes to things like makeup and polished nails– for the most part, I just can’t be bothered.

But lo, my aunt is an esthetician here in town and hark, I have a week off to be indulgent and luxurious! So guess how I spent day five of the Week of Me?

Being fancy!

Yesterday I treated myself to a pedicure, which thanks to my aunt’s open heart and open-ish schedule, quickly turned into a pedicure and manicure.

Holy hell, I am so fancy!

The last time I indulged in a pedicure was two full years ago. Back then, I was horrified at the thought of subjecting anybody, let alone a family member, to my rugged feet and crooked toes, but after I emerged from her little room, I felt like a princess (albeit a princess with a penchant for wearing hiking boots and cycling shoes). This time around, there was no guilt or shame involved when I booked my appointment. No, no. In my few short days off work, I have already come to a point where I need a little pampering, and I am not afraid to go and get it! 🙂

Since my pina colada count has been embarrassingly low so far this week (I have not even had one solitary tropical drink!), I opted for the most fruity shade of tropical pink I could find for my toenails. It is like a semi-permanent pina colada on my feet! (I wish I would have caught the name of the polish while I was at my appointment. It’s probably something like Razzle B-Dazzled!, or at least we can pretend it is.) For my fingernails, which are still heavily occupied with opening boxes and unpacking things, we just kept them short and buffed. (But man, do they look slick and sophisticated just being all one length!) I have been ogling my own fingers and toes practically non-stop since yesterday afternoon. Granted, they probably wouldn’t be so captivating if I did regular upkeep on them myself, but then again, if I did maintain them on an ongoing basis, then a pedicure/manicure might not feel so indulgent and relaxing for the Week of Me… who’s to say?

While I was at my appointment, my aunt also did some reiki and energy work on me, which was so needed and painfully appreciated that it brought me to tears. (I am the epitome of class and composure, I tell you.) I am hoping to be able to move forward and talk (or just think) about certain sad/stressful things in the recent past without falling apart, but I guess these things take time.

3 responses

  1. I have had one pedicure in my life – for my wedding. I was actually nervous because my feet are super sensitive and I was scared of the sharp instruments…..but holy crap did it ever feel amazing after.
    We should get one together sometime.

    Now get over to the grocery store, walk up the freezer aisle and get one of those Bacardi frozen Pina Colada mixes and some rum and have a drink!!

  2. I get a pedicure every year. Usually right when winter turns over to spring and I start wearing flipflops :). Don’t feel guilty, this year I’ve already had two!

    I suggest you substitute the pina colada for a fruit smoothie. sooooo yummy.

What's the buzz? Tell me what's happening:

