Black Bean Hummus Recipe: Just Because

I was quite curious to see what activities I would naturally gravitate towards during the Week of Me. Would I crave working out? Sleeping in? Shopping ’til I drop? Reading? Writing? All (or none, or some) of the above?

Well, it turns out that I have been attracted to the kitchen like a moth to a flame. I’ve baked cookies, made soups and stews, steamed vegetables, and of course, I’ve made my personal favourite spread: hummus. I love me some homemade hummus!

Before I met Marty, I practically lived on hummus. I loved all varieties of it: classic, roasted garlic, roasted red pepper, jalapeno, spinach, and black bean. I’d eat it with rice crackers, rye crackers, celery sticks, salad, roasted veggies, potatoes, rice, bread, or just plain out of the dish. Trust me: I was serious about hummus. My crock pot was working pretty much full time for a while there. I was always cooking up some new beans or chickpeas to use for hummus, and I went through cloves of garlic like I was trying to wield off a whole flock of vampires.

When I met Marty, though, I toned down my hummus consumption quite a bit. For one thing, it seemed like the polite thing to do– especially for the man who was stealing multiple kisses whilst stealing my heart– and for another thing, Marty’s stomach was not as iron clad as my own when it came to digesting things like chick peas and raw garlic. (I swear I must have some special Middle Eastern enzyme somewhere in my constitution, because chick peas do nothing to faze me. Unfortunately, Marty does not seem to possess this unique quality as well.)

Anyway, we have discovered over time (much to my delight) that Marty does much better with hummus when it is chickpea- and raw garlic-free. (It’s always better to eat hummus with somebody else, because then you are both immune to each other’s garlicky breath.) And so, dear readers, I give you our Black Bean Hummus For Lovers recipe. Enjoy!

Black Bean Hummus For Lovers

You will need:

1 can (or 1-1.5 cups) cooked black beans, rinsed thoroughly

1-2 tbsp sesame tahini, or to taste

1-2 cloves garlic (raw or roasted*), pressed or diced finely

juice of one lemon (or the equivalent from one of those little plastic Realemons)

juice of one lime (or the equivalent from a Realime)

1 tsp ground cumin

salt to taste

olive oil or water to achieve desired consistency (usually 1 tbsp or so)

chopped fresh parsley or cilantro to garnish (optional)

How to Make It:

1. In a food processor, combine all ingredients except parsley/cilantro and blend until smooth. So simple! (If you do not have a food processor, which I didn’t for quite a long time, I would highly recommend using a hand blender instead. Mashing these ingredients by hand would be no fun, and putting them inside a regular blender could spell disaster! At least it would in one of the regular blenders I’ve owned…)

2. Scoop into a serving dish and garnish with parsley or cilantro, if desired.

3. Serve with warm pita triangles, crackers, chips, or raw veggies. (Or eat it plain!)

This recipe takes all of 5 minutes to make, is way cheaper than buying store varieties, and is probably healthier than the store bought ones, too, because I suspect those ones have way more oil and salt than this recipe does. There’s something about the lime juice and cumin that makes this version so tasty!!! If you are feeling adventurous, you could probably add jalapeno to it as well.

*If you want to use roasted garlic but aren’t sure how to do it yourself, simply cut the top off a whole bulb of garlic, brush the exposed garlic tops with some olive oil, and put in the oven (on a cookie sheet) at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about 45 minutes. We use our toaster oven for this, because it feels like we are using less energy than the whole big oven, and it works wonders. You can keep the roasted garlic in the fridge for about a week (or longer). When you are ready to use it, gently unwrap each clove from the garlic peel and chop, slice, or mash it. Yum!

2 responses

What's the buzz? Tell me what's happening:

